Mississippi Wage and Hour Investigations laws & compensation compliance analysis

Mississippi Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

All minimum wage and overtime questions are governed by federal law, since Mississippi does not have its own minimum wage or overtime laws.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Child labor. State law regulates the hours of labor that minors can work in a mill, cannery, workshop, factory, or manufacturing establishment. The county sheriff inspects those businesses at least monthly to enforce all child labor laws. It is a misdemeanor to disobey any lawful order of the sheriff or to violate the state's child labor laws. A violation is punishable by a fine of up to $100, imprisonment for up to 60 days, or both (MS Code Sec. 71-1-27 and Sec. 71-1-29).
For additional information, contact:

Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations


Mississippi Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Type Title
White Papers Increased Complaints, Enforcement, Warrant FLSA Changes
See all Wage and Hour Investigations Resources