West Virginia Wage and Hour Investigations laws & compensation compliance analysis

West Virginia Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

West Virginia's Division of Labor may, at reasonable times, enter a place of business in order to:
• Inspect; examine; and copy, photograph, or otherwise reproduce all payroll records of the employer directly relating to employees' wages and hours; and
• Question employees about their wages and hours (WV Code Sec. 21-5C-6).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Retaliation. An employer may be fined between $100 and $500 for willfully discharging or discriminating against an employee because the employee has made a wage and hour complaint or is about to testify in a related proceeding.
Discrimination. Willful discrimination with respect to wages, hours of work, or overtime compensation because of race, religion, color, national origin, ancestry, age, or sex, is punishable by a fine of between $250 and $1,000, imprisonment, or both. Violations of other related provisions carry a fine of up to $100. In addition to any applicable penalty, an employer may be liable for unpaid wages (WV Code Sec. 21-5C-7).
There is additional information.

Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations


West Virginia Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Type Title
White Papers Increased Complaints, Enforcement, Warrant FLSA Changes
See all Wage and Hour Investigations Resources