Wisconsin Minimum Wage laws & compensation compliance analysis

Wisconsin Minimum Wage: What you need to know

You can find your state and local minimum wage rates and tip credit laws in the Minimum Wage Chart.
Local governments in Wisconsin may not regulate the minimum wage for private or public employees.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
The following workers are exempt from the state's minimum wage laws (WI Admin. Code Sec. DWD 272.03):
• Those in direct retail sales to consumers
• Real estate agents and salespersons paid solely by commission
• Newspaper carriers who deliver house to house
• Individuals employed 15 hours or fewer per week in the employer's home babysitting, mowing lawns, and doing similar odd jobs (WI Admin. Code Sec. DWD 272.06)
• Those employed in the home as companions who spend fewer than 15 hours per week on general work (WI Admin. Code Sec. DWD 272.06)
Employers may apply to the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development for a license to pay subminimum wages to certain apprentices, student learners, and workers with disabilities (WI Admin. Code Sec. DWD 272.09, Sec. 295.04).
State law allows employers to pay new hires under the age of 20 an opportunity rate for the first 90 days of employment.
There is a special minimum wage for caddies.
State law allows employers that provide meals and/or lodging to employees to use the value of such benefits to help satisfy minimum wage laws. Meals and lodging must be accepted and received by the employee in order for the employer to deduct the designated amounts, up to a certain limit, from the employee's pay. Employers cannot require employees to accept meals and lodging in lieu of cash wages.
An employer that ...

Read more about Minimum Wage

Wisconsin Minimum Wage Resources

Type Title
See all Minimum Wage Resources