The director of the state's Division of Labor (or his or her authorized representative) has the authority to enter places of employment to inspect wage-related records. The director may make excerpts of reports, payrolls, and other wage-related documents and require that the employer provide an accurate statement of wages paid (CO Rev. Stat. Sec. 8-6-107). Wage claims must be brought within 2 years (or 3 years for willful violations) of when the wages first become due and payable.
Investigation of certain occupations. The director will initiate an investigation of a particular occupation if he or she believes that inadequate wages are being paid to a significant number of employees in that occupation, or if he or she receives such a request from at least 25 people employed in that occupation (CO Rev. Stat. Sec. 8-6-105).
Minimum wage violations. Employers covered by minimum wage law that pay employees less than the applicable minimum wage are guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine, imprisonment, or both (CO Rev. Stat. Sec. 8-6-116). In a civil suit, an employee may recover unpaid wages plus costs (CO Rev. Stat. Sec. 8-6-118).
Failure to pay wages. An employer that fails to pay wages due will be fined each day for each failure to pay (CO Rev. Stat. Sec. 8-4-113). Violation of certain wage-payment provisions is considered a misdemeanor punishable by a fine, imprisonment, or both (CO Rev. Stat. Sec. 8-4-114).
Wage theft. Colorado’s Wage Protection Act establishes an administrative procedure to adjudicate wage claims under state law. The Colorado Division of Labor may receive complaints and adjudicate claims for nonpayment of wages or compensation of $7,500 or less. A written demand for unpaid ...