Georgia Records laws & compensation compliance analysis

Georgia Records: What you need to know

The information provided here highlights some of the more important recordkeeping requirements that apply to most employers in Georgia, regardless of industry. There may be other state recordkeeping requirements that are specific to certain businesses or industries. In addition, there are many federal statutes that require employers to keep certain records related to employment. There is more information on federal recordkeeping requirements.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
The time period for retaining records set forth in the various statutes is minimum. Because these records are critical to the employer if its compliance with federal or state law is questioned or if it must defend itself against employment-related litigation, employers may want to retain employment-related records for longer periods. Moreover, the penalties for not keeping required records may be severe.
Covered employers. All employers are subject to the recordkeeping requirements.
Required. Employers with employees under the age of 18 must retain a copy of each minor employee's employment certificate and file a duplicate with the commissioner of labor within 30 days of the date the certificate was issued. Employment certificates for minor employees between the ages of 12 and 16 must be returned to the minor within 5 days of the employee's termination.
To be retained. These records must be retained for as long as the minor employee is employed (GA Code Sec. 39-2-12, Sec. 39-2-13).
Covered employers. Employers with 15 or more employees are subject to the recordkeeping requirements.
Required. Georgia state law requires employers to follow the same recordkeeping requirements as those required under the ...

Read more about Records