Michigan Records laws & compensation compliance analysis

Michigan Records: What you need to know

The information provided here highlights some of the more important recordkeeping requirements that apply to most employers in Michigan, regardless of industry. There may be other state recordkeeping requirements that are specific to certain businesses or industries. In addition, there are many federal statutes that require employers to keep certain records related to employment. More information on federal recordkeeping requirements is available.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Employers should keep in mind that the time period for retaining records set forth in the various statutes are minimums. Since these records are critical to the employer if its compliance with federal or state law is questioned, or if it must defend itself against employment-related litigation, employers may want to retain employment-related records for longer periods. Moreover, the penalties for not keeping required records may be severe.
Covered employers. All employers of minors under 18 years old are subject to the recordkeeping requirements.
Required. Employers must keep records with each minor worker's daily starting and quitting times; and the total number of hours worked each day. In addition, there must be a work permit for each minor employee on file at the workplace.
To be retained. Records must be retained for a minimum of 1 year, except that work permits must be returned to the issuing officer upon termination of the minor's employment (MI Comp. Laws Sec. 409.104, 409.113).
Covered employers. All employers are subject to the recordkeeping requirements.
Required. Employers must keep records of work-related illnesses and injuries and report any such injury or illness ...

Read more about Records