New Hampshire Records laws & compensation compliance analysis

New Hampshire Records: What you need to know

The information provided here highlights some of the more important recordkeeping requirements that apply to most employers in New Hampshire, regardless of industry. There may be other state recordkeeping requirements that are specific to certain businesses or industries. In addition, there are many federal statutes that require employers to keep certain records related to employment. There is information on federal recordkeeping requirements.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
The time period for retaining records set forth in the various statutes is minimum. Because these records are critical to the employer if its compliance with federal or state law is questioned or if it must defend itself against employment-related litigation, employers may want to retain employment-related records for longer periods. Moreover, the penalties for not keeping required records may be severe.
Covered employers. All employers are subject to the recordkeeping requirements.
Required. Employers must keep work permits, age verification, and proof of adequacy of health on file in the workplace for all employees under the age of 16. For employees who are 16 or 17 years of age, employers must keep the employee's parent's written permission. Work permits must be obtained by the employer within 3 days of the first day of employment.
To be retained. These records must be retained for as long as the minor is employed (NH Rev. Stat. Sec. 276-A:5).
Covered employers. All employers are subject to the recordkeeping requirements.
Required. Employers must keep a record of employee exposure to hazardous substances in the workplace. In addition, the employer must keep a material safety data ...

Read more about Records