Oregon Records laws & compensation compliance analysis

Oregon Records: What you need to know

The information provided here highlights some of the more important recordkeeping requirements that apply to most employers in Oregon, regardless of industry. There may be other state recordkeeping requirements that are specific to certain businesses or industries. In addition, there are many federal statutes that require employers to keep certain records related to employment. There is additional information on federal recordkeeping requirements.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Covered employers. All employers with apprenticeship training programs.
Required. Employers must keep records related to the selection and rejection of applicants for the training program that identify the applicant's race and gender, including résumés, applications, interview notes, and any other documents used as the basis for evaluating a candidate for hire.
To be retained. Records must be retained for a minimum of 5 years (Or. Admin. R. 839-011-0200).
Covered employers. All employers with minor employees.
Required. Employers must keep records of each minor worker's name, address, and telephone number; total hours worked each day and each week; daily starting and quitting times; age; date the minor was authorized to work; wage rate and total wages paid each week; deductions, rebates, or refunds taken from the minor's total wages and the net amount of wages paid; and any payroll or other records pertaining to the employment of minors. The employer must also maintain and post a schedule of the maximum number of hours to be worked daily and weekly by minors under 16 years of age.
To be retained. Employment records must be retained for a minimum of 2 years (Or. Admin. R. 839-021-0365).

Read more about Records