Virginia Records laws & compensation compliance analysis

Virginia Records: What you need to know

The information provided here highlights some of the more important recordkeeping requirements that apply to most employers in Virginia, regardless of industry. There may be other state recordkeeping requirements that are specific to certain businesses or industries. In addition, there are many federal statutes that require employers to keep certain records related to employment. There is additional information on federal recordkeeping requirements.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Covered employers. All employers with minor employees under 16 years of age.
Required. Employers must keep time books, time cards, or other records of hours worked for all employees under age 16, showing daily starting and ending times and duty-free meal periods. These periods may be deducted from the schedule of hours of work. Employers employing workers under age 16 in agriculture work on days when school is in session, or any day if the minor is employed in a hazardous occupation, must keep records of the worker's name, address while employed and permanent address, if they differ, and the date of birth. Employers must also keep on file employment certificates (work-training certificate, or vacation or part-time employment certificate) for employees under age 16.
To be retained. Records for the prior 12 months for each minor must be retained for 3 years following termination of employment (VA Code Sec. 40.1-81.1, 40.1-84, 40.1-85; 16 VAC Sec. 15-50-40 ).
Covered employers. Public state employers.
Required. Employers must retain records related to family and medical leave including requests for leave, notices, correspondence, and medical records.
To be retained. Records should be retained ...

Read more about Records