California Leave of Absence (FMLA) laws & compensation compliance analysis

California Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

More than any other state, California has enacted numerous leave laws covering various types of leave. Note that some of these laws overlap.
The state laws discussed here include:
• California Family Rights Act
• New Parent Leave Act
• Pregnancy Disability Leave Act
• Paid Family Leave Program
• Family-School Partnership Act
• School Suspensions and Expulsions
• Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Victims Leave
• Crime Victims Leave
• Time off for Emergency Duties
• Family Military Leave
• Temporary Disability Leave
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
At the end of this analysis, a Quick Reference: Interplay of FMLA, CFRA, and PDLA comparison is provided.
Employees unable to work due to COVID-19 may qualify for benefits under California’s Paid Family Leave (PFL) program. PFL benefits are approximately 60 percent to 70 percent (depending on income) of wages earned 5 to 18 months before an employee’s claim start date for up to 6 weeks within any 12-month period.
The PFL program provides up to 8 weeks of monetary benefits for employees on leave who are caring for a seriously ill family member, among other reasons. Employees do not have to complete any waiting period for PFL. California’s Employment Development Department (EDD) confirmed that PFL benefits are available to eligible employees unable to work because they have to care for an ill or a quarantined family member due to COVID-19 (if certified by a medical professional). Additional information is available at https://edd.ca.gov/about_edd/coronavirus-2019.htm and https://edd.ca.gov/about_EDD/pdf/news-20-06.pdf.

Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)