Georgia Leave of Absence (FMLA) laws & compensation compliance analysis

Georgia Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

In addition to the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), some states have their own comprehensive family leave laws that may also require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness.
However, Georgia does not have such a law.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Detailed information on leave and other employment matters related to maternity and pregnancy is available in the Maternity and Pregnancy topical analysis.
Detailed information on state and local sick leave requirements is available in the Sick Leave topical analysis.
Use of sick leave for family care. Effective July 1, 2017, Georgia employers with 25 or more employees that provide paid sick leave to employees must also allow employees to use up to 5 days per year of that leave, once earned, to care for an immediate family member (G.C.A. 34-1-10.)
Sick and maternity leave for school personnel. Georgia sets specific requirements for the use of sick leave and maternity leave by public school teachers and other school personnel.
For purposes of the statute, the term “personnel” includes each person employed in the public school system in the capacity of student services support personnel or administrative and supervisory personnel.
Further details are provided on the respective topical analysis pages.
Organ and bone marrow donation leave—public employees. Public employees may take a paid leave of absence for up to 30 days to serve as an organ donor. This leave cannot be charged against or deducted from any annual or sick leave, and it must be included as service ...

Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)