In addition to the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), some states have their own comprehensive family leave laws that may also require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness.
However, Nevada does not have such a law.
Public employers. Nevada has formally adopted the provisions of the federal FMLA for its state employees (NV Admin. Code Sec. 284.523et seq.).
Detailed information on leave and other employment matters related to maternity and pregnancy is available in the Maternity and Pregnancy
School visitation leave. Employers with 50 or more employees must allow an employee who is a parent, guardian, or custodian of a child enrolled in a private or public school up to 4 hours of unpaid leave per school year, per child, to attend certain school-related activities or events or to volunteer at the school in which the child is enrolled. Leave must be taken in increments of 1 hour.
Covered school-related events are broadly defined, including:
• Attending parent-teacher conferences,
• Attending school-related activities during regular school hours,
• Volunteering or otherwise being involved at the school in which the child is enrolled during regular school hours, and
• Attending school-sponsored events.
The leave must be taken at a mutually agreed upon time, and the employer may require employees to submit a request for leave in writing 5 school days before the date the leave is taken. Employers are prohibited from demoting, suspending, or otherwise discriminating against a parent, guardian, or custodian of a child ...