In addition to the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), some states have their own comprehensive family leave laws that may also require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness.
However, New Hampshire does not have such a law.
Detailed information on leave and other employment matters related to maternity and pregnancy is available in the Maternity and Pregnancy
Public employees. Although New Hampshire does not have a family and medical leave law, public employees may take sick leave for maternity-related disabilities (NH Admin. Rules Per. Sec. 1209.01).
Detailed information on state and local sick leave requirements is available in the Sick Leave
Public employees. Public employees may use up to 5 days of sick leave per year to care for dependents living in the employee's house, and up to 4 days of sick leave per year for death in the employee's immediate family (NH Admin. Rules Per. Sec. 1204.05).