Ohio Leave of Absence (FMLA) laws & compensation compliance analysis

Ohio Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

In addition to the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), some states have their own comprehensive family leave laws that may also require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness.
However, Ohio does not have such a law.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Detailed information on leave and other employment matters related to maternity and pregnancy is available on the Maternity and Pregnancy topical analysis.
Detailed information on state and local sick leave requirements is available on the Sick Leave topical analysis.
Organ and bone marrow donation leave—state employees. Full-time state employees are entitled to receive:
• Up to 240 hours of paid leave each year to donate a liver or kidney; and
• Up to 56 hours of paid leave each year to donate bone marrow (OH Rev. Code Sec. 124.139).
Bereavement leave—private employees. Ohio law does not require bereavement time off for employees working in the private sector.
Bereavement leave—state employees. State employees may take 3 days of bereavement leave with pay upon the death of an immediate family member.
Employees may also use up to 5 days of sick leave for an absence due to a death in the family (OH Admin. Code Sec. 123:1-32-05, Sec. 123:1-34-09).
Detailed information on leave and other employment matters related to employee military service is available on the Military Service topical analysis.
Employers with 50 or more employees are required to ...

Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)