Virginia Leave of Absence (FMLA) laws & compensation compliance analysis

Virginia Leave of Absence (FMLA): What you need to know

In addition to the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), some states have their own comprehensive family leave laws that may also require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness.
However, Virginia does not have such a law.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Maternity, pregnancy, and parental leave. For in-depth guidance on leave and other employment matters related to maternity and pregnancy:
For in-depth guidance on state and local sick leave requirements:
Bone Marrow or Organ Donation Leave—State Employees. State employees are allowed up to 30 days of paid leave in any calendar year, in addition to any other paid leave, to serve as bone marrow or organ donors (VA Stat. Sec. 2.2-2821.1).
Bereavement Leave—Private Employees. Virginia law does not require bereavement time off for employees working in the private sector; however, most employers do offer workers some form of time off for bereavement after the death of a loved one.
Family, Personal, and Bereavement Leave—State Employees. State employees are eligible to take paid family and personal leave for absences due to a short-term incident, illness, death of a family member, or other personal need (VA Stat. Sec. 51.1-1107).
State employees receive family and personal leave based on the number of months of state service.
Employees with less than 120 months of state service receive 32 hours of paid leave per year; employees with 120 or more months of state service receive 40 hours of paid leave per year.
Unused balances of family and personal ...

Read more about Leave of Absence (FMLA)