Effective January 1, 2020, Nevada law requires covered employers to provide earned paid leave, which employees may use for any reason, including those for which sick leave is typically used. (2019 SB 312).
Covered employers. “Employer” means a private employer with 50 or more employees in private employment in the state of Nevada. New employers are not required to comply with the law for the first 2 years of operation.
Employers who already provide paid time off pursuant to a contract, policy, collective bargaining agreement, or other agreement are not required to provide additional rights or leave under this law as long as the leave provided meets the minimum accrual rate (0.01923 hours of paid leave per work hour).
Temporary, seasonal, and on-call employees are not entitled to leave under the law.
Accrual and use. Employees are entitled to earn at least 0.01923 hours of paid leave for every hour of work performed. An employee’s leave entitlement may be accrued over the course of the year or may be front-loaded. The amount of leave used in a year may be limited to 40 hours; leave carryover may also be limited to 40 hours per year.
Employees are eligible to use leave beginning on the 90th calendar day of employment.
Employees may use available leave for any reason; more specifically, employees may use leave without providing a reason for doing so.
Employees should, as soon as practicable, give notice of the need to use available leave.
Payout on termination. Employers may, but are not required to, pay out unused leave upon separation from employment. However, if an employee is rehired within 90 days of involuntary separation, previously unused paid leave must be reinstated.
Notice and recordkeeping. Employees ...