Alabama Paychecks laws & compensation compliance analysis

Alabama Paychecks: What you need to know

Public service transportation corporations that employ 50 or more people must pay their employees at least twice a month (AL Code Sec. 37-8-270). Payment must include all amounts due for labor or services performed until 15 days before the payday. All other Alabama employers are free to devise a pay schedule without restriction.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
A public service employer that fails to pay wages due on demand may be charged with a misdemeanor and fined up to $250 for each offense (AL Code Sec. 37-8-270).
Wages remaining unclaimed by an employee for more than 1 year are presumed to be abandoned property. Employers in possession of abandoned property are required to file a report with the treasurer of revenue by November 1 of each year (AL Code Sec. 35-12-72).

Read more about Paychecks

Alabama Paychecks Resources

Type Title
Policies Payment of Compensation - Paychecks
See all Paychecks Resources