Texas Hiring laws & compensation compliance analysis

Texas Hiring: What you need to know

The Texas Employment Discrimination Law prohibits discrimination in employment, including hiring because of race, color, disability, religion, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, and related medical conditions), national origin, or age (40 years or older) (TX Labor Code Sec. 21.051et seq.). The law applies to all public employers and to private employers with 15 or more employees. Additional information is available.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Texas law requires that all employers doing business in the state report the hiring of any person within 20 days of the date of hire. Employers must also report the rehire of any former employee (TX Family Code Sec. 234.101et seq.). Violations of the law may result in the assessment of fines against the employer.
Details on reporting requirements and filing information are available on the Texas Workforce Commission’s website at http://www.twc.state.tx.us.
Last reviewed March 2018.

Read more about Hiring