Louisiana Release Notification regulations & environmental compliance analysis

Louisiana Release Notification: What you need to know

Governing Law and Regulations

Hazardous waste management: Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC): 33:V.105

For a Limited Time receive a FREE EHS Report "Recordkeeping for EHS Managers." This special report contains a recordkeeping checklist to help you keep track of your records for major environmental laws and OSHA's Hazard Communication Standard. Download Now

Underground storage tank rules: LAC 33:XI.707 to .715

Community right to know: LAC 33:V.10111

Uniform release notification: LAC 33:I.3903 to LAC 33:I.3931

Emergency notifications: LAC 33:I.3915(A)

Nonemergency discharges: LAC 33:I.3917

Groundwater contamination: LAC 33:I.3919

Prompt notification: LAC 33:I.3923

Written report: LAC 33:I.3925

Reportable quantities: LAC 33:I.3927 to 33:I.3931

Underground storage tank (UST) releases: LAC 33:XI.715

Regulatory Agencies

Louisiana Emergency Response Commission (LERC) Department of Public Safety and Corrections (DPS) Office of State Police Transportation and Environmental Safety Section

Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) Office of Environmental Compliance Emergency and Radiological Services Division Single Point of Contact (SPOC)

Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPC)

See ADDRESSES & CONTACTS for addresses and telephone numbers.

See national section for basic information and federal regulations.

Comparison: State vs. Federal

Rules. Louisiana release notification requirements follow the federal rules, except the state has lower reportable quantities (RQs) for some substances. In addition, Louisiana may require more detailed information in the initial notification.

Louisiana's oil spill rules generally follow the federal standards. Any unauthorized spills of one barrel (42 gallons) of oil or more must be reported to DEQ. Notification to DEQ must be made within 24 hours unless the situation is deemed an emergency, in which case, the Louisiana State Police must be notified within 1 hour of the spill. See the state section OIL SPILLS for additional information.

Louisiana follows the federal rules for hazardous waste tanks, with additional release notification requirements. See the state section


Read more about Release Notification


Louisiana Release Notification Resources

Type Title
Checklists CERCLA Release Reporting Checklist
Forms Spill/Release Report Form
See all Release Notification Resources