Governing Law and Regulations
Maine Department of Environmental Protection (DEQ) Bureau of Remediation and Waste Management Division of Oil and Hazardous Waste Facilities Regulation
Comparison: State vs. Federal
· Rules. Maine follows the federal accumulation time rule that allows large quantity generators (LQGs) to accumulate hazardous waste for up to 90 days without a permit (referred to in Maine as a license) and adds more stringent state provisions. In addition, because the state does not use the federal definitions of large quantity, small quantity, and conditionally exempt small quantity generator, Maine’s requirements are more stringent for generators that under the federal scheme would be considered small quantity generators (SQGs) or conditionally exempt small quantity generators (CESQGs). Unlike the federal rules, Maine does not allow accumulation for 270 days if the waste must be shipped more than 200 miles.
See the state section HAZARDOUS WASTE STORAGE for information on how generators can store hazardous waste on-site without a permit.
· Administration and enforcement. The Maine Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) administers and enforces the accumulation time regulations in Maine.