Nevada Stormwater-Municipalities regulations & environmental compliance analysis

Nevada Stormwater-Municipalities: What you need to know

Governing Law and Regulations

National pollutant discharge elimination system (NPDES) permit program: 40 CFR 122 and regulations at Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 445A.266 to 445A.272.

Regulatory Agencies
For a Limited Time receive a FREE EHS Report "Recordkeeping for EHS Managers." This special report contains a recordkeeping checklist to help you keep track of your records for major environmental laws and OSHA's Hazard Communication Standard. Download Now

The Nevada Division of Environmental Protection (NDEP) Bureau of Water Pollution Control (BWPC)

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Region 9

See ADDRESSES & CONTACTS for addresses and telephone numbers.

Comparison: State vs. Federal

· Rules. Nevada is authorized by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to administer the federal National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit program for wastewater discharges, including permitting authority for stormwater discharges associated with municipal separate storm sewer systems (MS4s). See the national section STORMWATER—MUNICIPALITIES for more information on the federal MS4 permitting program.

· Administration and enforcement. NDEP’s BWPC issues MS4 stormwater permits in the state.

State Requirements


Under the NPDES stormwater program, operators of large, medium, and regulated small MS4s require authorization to discharge pollutants under a NPDES permit. "Regulated small MS4s" are defined as all small MS4s located in "urbanized areas" (UAs), as defined by the Bureau of the Census, and those small MS4s located outside a UA that are designated by NPDES permitting authorities.

Nevada issues a small MS4 general permit for regulated small MS4s (NVR040000) and individual MS4 stormwater permits to the following medium and large MS4s in the state:

  • Las Vegas Valley
  • Truckee Meadows
  • Nevada Department of Transportation

Read more about Stormwater-Municipalities