Texas Stormwater-Municipalities regulations & environmental compliance analysis

Texas Stormwater-Municipalities: What you need to know

Governing Law and Regulations

Municipal separate storm sewer systems (MS4s): 40 CFR 122.26(b)(8)

Regulatory Agencies
For a Limited Time receive a FREE EHS Report "Recordkeeping for EHS Managers." This special report contains a recordkeeping checklist to help you keep track of your records for major environmental laws and OSHA's Hazard Communication Standard. Download Now

Texas Commission of Environmental Quality (TCEQ) Office of Water Water Quality Division

Railroad Commission of Texas (RRCT)

Texas General Land Office

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Region 6

See ADDRESSES & CONTACTS for addresses and telephone numbers.

See national section for basic information and federal regulations.

Comparison: State vs. Federal

Rules. Texas is authorized by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to implement its Texas Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (TPDES) permit program. TPDES is the state program that carries out the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES), a federal regulatory program to control discharges of pollutants to surface waters of the United States, including discharges related to municipal stormwater activities. See the national section STORMWATER—MUNICIPALITIES for additional guidance.

Administration and enforcement. TCEQ's Water Quality Division and EPA Region 6 share responsibility for various aspects of the TPDES stormwater permitting program.

State Requirements


The TCEQ has implemented permit requirements for both large and medium (Phase I) and small (Phase II) municipal separate storm sewer systems (MS4s). For large and medium MS4s that serve or are located in an incorporated place or county with a population of 100,000 or greater, Phase I MS4 permits and renewal permits are required.

A copy of the application to discharge from a large or medium MS4 can be accessed in Forms in this section.


The TCEQ issues General Permit TXR040000 for stormwater discharges from small MS4s into state surface ...

Read more about Stormwater-Municipalities