Wyoming Stormwater-Municipalities regulations & environmental compliance analysis

Wyoming Stormwater-Municipalities: What you need to know

Governing Law and Regulations

National pollutant discharge elimination system (NPDES) permit program: Wyoming Water Quality Rules and Regulations (WWQR&R) Chapter 2, Sections 1 to 19

Regulatory Agencies
For a Limited Time receive a FREE EHS Report "Recordkeeping for EHS Managers." This special report contains a recordkeeping checklist to help you keep track of your records for major environmental laws and OSHA's Hazard Communication Standard. Download Now

Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)Water Quality Division (WQD)

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Region 8

See ADDRESSES & CONTACTS for addresses and telephone numbers.

Comparison: State vs. Federal

· Rules. Wyoming is authorized by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to administer the federal National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit program for wastewater discharges, including permitting authority for stormwater discharges associated with municipal separate storm sewer systems (MS4s). See the national section STORMWATER—MUNICIPALITIES for more information on the federal MS4 permitting program.

· Administration and enforcement. In Wyoming, the DEQ is responsible for administering the stormwater MS4 permitting program.

State Requirements


Under the NPDES stormwater program, operators of large, medium, and regulated small MS4s require authorization to discharge pollutants under a NPDES permit. Regulated small MS4s are defined as all small MS4s located in "urbanized areas" (UAs) as defined by the Bureau of the Census and those small MS4s located outside of a UA that are designated by NPDES permitting authorities.

Wyoming issues an MS4 general permit for small MS4s (WYR04-0000). This permit covers the populated areas around Cheyenne and Casper and includes portions of the cities of Casper and Cheyenne, the towns of Mills and Evansville, the counties of Laramie and Natrona, Warren Air Force Base, and nonstandard MS4s within the UA boundaries. No ...

Read more about Stormwater-Municipalities