Ohio Death in Family laws & HR compliance analysis

Ohio Death in Family: What you need to know

Ohio law does not require bereavement time off for employees working in the private sector.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
State employees. State employees may take 3 days of bereavement leave with pay upon the death of an immediate family member. Employees may also use up to 5 days of sick leave for an absence due to a death in the family (OH Admin. Code Sec. 123:1-32-05, Sec. 123:1-34-09).
More information is available.
Employee assistance programs (EAPs). Employers that have an EAP may consider offering bereaved employees the opportunity to see a grief counselor through the EAP.
Last reviewed on October 31, 2016.

Read more about Death in Family