Virginia Death in Family laws & HR compliance analysis

Virginia Death in Family: What you need to know

Virginia law does not require bereavement time off for employees working in the private sector; however, most employers do offer workers some form of time off for bereavement after the death of a loved one.
State employees. State employees may take paid family and personal leave to account for absences due to the death of a family member, or other personal need (VA Code Sec. 51.1-1107).
The amount of leave allowed is based on the amount of time the state employee has been employed, as follows: 32 hours for less than 120 months of state service; 40 hours for more than 120 months of state service.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Employee assistance programs (EAPs). Employers that have an EAP may consider offering bereaved employees the opportunity to see a grief counselor through the EAP.
Last reviewed on November 10, 2016.

Read more about Death in Family