Connecticut Jury Duty/ Court Appearance laws & HR compliance analysis

Connecticut Jury Duty/ Court Appearance: What you need to know

Jury duty. An employer may not discharge, threaten to discharge, or otherwise coerce an employee for responding to a summons or serving on a jury.
Any employee who serves 8 hours of jury duty in any 1 day must be deemed to have worked a legal day's work, and an employer cannot require the employee to work in excess of those 8 hours.
Employees discharged in violation of this provision may sue for wages, plus attorneys' fees (CT Gen. Stat. Sec. 51-247a).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Court appearance. An employer may not discharge, threaten, penalize, or coerce an employee who obeys a legal subpoena to appear before any court in the state as a witness in any criminal proceeding (CT Gen. Stat. Sec. 54-85b).
Victims of crimes and family violence. Employers may not discriminate against crime victims for attending court proceedings and participating in police investigations relating to that crime.
They also may not be discriminated against for having a restraining or protective order issued on their behalf.
Employees who are family violence victims are entitled to take paid or unpaid leave during any calendar year in which the leave is reasonably necessary to participate in any civil or criminal proceeding related to or resulting from such family violence.
An employer may not terminate, threaten, or otherwise coerce an employee because he or she, as a parent, spouse, child, or sibling of a victim of homicide, attends court proceedings with respect to the criminal case of the person or persons charged with committing the crime that resulted in the death of the victim (CT Gen. Stat. Sec. 54-85d).
Notice. An employee should give notice of the need for witness leave at least 7 days in advance, if possible, or as soon as practicable.
Private ...

Read more about Jury Duty/ Court Appearance

Related Topics