Under Virginia law, an employer may not discharge or take any other adverse job action against an employee who is called to serve on jury duty. Employees cannot be required to use vacation or sick leave time during their absence. An employer that violates these provisions is guilty of a misdemeanor (VA Code Sec. 18.2-465.1).
In addition, an employer may not require an employee who spends 4 or more hours in 1 day (including travel time) on jury duty to report to work on or after 5:00 p.m. on the day of the appearance or before 3:00 a.m. on the following day.
Notice. Employees are expected to give employers reasonable notice of a summons.
Business/occupational exemptions. Virginia law exempts most state officials, judges and magistrates, practicing attorneys, and members of police forces and jail officers from serving on juries. There are also other exemptions, including for those performing essential services to a business, commercial, or agricultural enterprise. Requests must be in writing and received 5 days of receipt of the summons ( VA Code Sec. 801-341.1). Contact the county of residence of the prospective juror for more information.