In addition to the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), some states have their own comprehensive family leave laws that may also require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness.
However, Georgia does not have such a law.
Note that eligible state employees are granted paid time off for the birth or adoption of a child or the placement of a foster child with an employee.
Effective July 1, 2021, Georgia House Bill 146 (HB 146) revised the Official Code of Georgia Annotated § 45-20-17 and gave eligible state employees, including those working in public school districts or at public universities, 3 weeks of paid parental leave when they have a birth, adopt a child, or foster a child.
Under the new law, eligible employees are eligible for paid parental leave for qualifying life events after 6 continuous months of employment with the state or local board of education regardless of whether the employees are eligible for paid or unpaid leave under federal law.
The maximum amount of paid parental leave that may be taken by an eligible employee during a rolling 12-month period is 120 hours, regardless of the number of qualifying life events that occur within that 12-month period. The rolling 12-month period is measured backward from the date an eligible employee first uses parental leave. Leave may be used as needed and may be taken in increments of less than 8 hours. Any leave that remains 12 months after the qualifying life event will not carry over for future use.
Note that an eligible employee employed on an hourly basis will be ...