In addition to the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), some states have their own comprehensive family leave laws that may also require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness.
Maine does have such a law.
Maine offers family and medical leave protections to public and private employees under its Maine Family and Medical Leave Act (MFMLA) (26 ME Rev. Stat. Sec. 843et seq.).
Covered employers. Private employers with 15 or more employees at one location in the state; all state employers and agents of the state; and any city, town, or municipal agency with 25 or more employees are covered by the Act.
Eligible employees. Employees who have been employed by the same covered employer for 12 consecutive months are entitled to up to 10 workweeks in any 2 years for family/medical leave.
Nothing in the Act prohibits the employer from paying for all or part of the leave.
Employees employed at a permanent worksite with fewer than 15 employees are not eligible for family/medical leave.
Events for which leave may be taken. A family medical leave may be taken for the following:
• Serious health condition of the employee
• The birth of the employee's child, or the employee's domestic partner's child
• The placement of a child 16 years of age or less with the employee, or the employee's domestic partner, in connection with the adoption of the child by the employee, or the employee's domestic partner
• A child, domestic partner's child, parent, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner with a serious health condition
• Donation of an organ of that employee for a human organ transplant
• The ...