In addition to the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), some states have their own comprehensive family leave laws that may also require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness.
Oregon does have such a law.
The Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA) requires covered employers to grant eligible employees unpaid time off for a variety of family- and health-related reasons (OR Rev. Stat. Sec. 659A.150 et seq., OR Admin. Rules 839-009-0200 et seq.).
Covered employers. The Act covers employers (public and private) with 25 or more employees in Oregon for each working day during each of 20 or more calendar workweeks, either in the calendar year the leave is taken or in the immediately preceding calendar year.
Eligible employees. To be eligible for parental leave (leave to care for an infant or newly adopted child under the age of 18, a newly placed foster child under the age of 18, or an adopted or foster child over the age of 18 who is incapable of self-care due to disability), an employee must have been employed by the covered employer for at least 180 days immediately before the commencement of leave.
Employees seeking OFLA leave for all other qualifying reasons must also work an average of at least 25 hours per week for the covered employer during the 180 days immediately preceding the date on which family leave would commence.
Employees should be employed in the state of Oregon on the date the OFLA leave begins but need not solely work in the state of Oregon.
Qualifying reasons for leave. Employees may take family leave for the following reasons:
1. Parental leave: To care for an ...