In addition to the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA),some states have their own comprehensive family leave laws that may also require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness.
Rhode Island does have such a law.
Rhode Island imposes family and medical leave obligations on its public and private employers through the Rhode Island Parental and Family Leave Act (RI Gen. Laws Sec. 28-48-1et seq.).
Covered employers. Private employers with 50 or more employees, all state employers, and any city, town, or municipal agency with 30 or more employees are covered by the Act.
Eligible employees. Any full-time employee who works an average of 30 or more hours per week and who has been employed by the same employer for 12 consecutive months is eligible for parental and family medical leave.
Parental leave. This may be taken for the birth of a child of an employee or the placement of a child 16 years of age or less with an employee in connection with the adoption of such child by the employee.
Family leave. This may be taken for the serious illness of the employee or the employee's parent, spouse (including same-sex spouses), child, or mother- or father-in-law. For employees of the state, covered family members also include domestic partners.
Leave requirements. Eligible employees are entitled to 13 consecutive workweeks of leave in any 2 calendar year periods, provided the employee gives his or her employer advance notice. The employee is required to give at least 30 days' notice of the intended date the leave will begin and terminate, unless prevented by medical emergency from ...