In addition to the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), some states have their own comprehensive family leave laws that may also require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness.
However, Utah does not have such a law.
Public employers. Utah has adopted the requirements of the federal FMLA for its state employees (UT Admin. Code Sec. 477-7-15).
Unpaid medical leave—state employees. An employee of the state who is ineligible for FMLA, workers’ compensation, or long-term disability may be granted leave without pay for medical reasons.
Medical leave without pay may be granted for no more than 12 months. Medical leave may be approved if a registered health practitioner certifies that an employee is temporarily disabled.
An employee who is granted this leave must provide a monthly status update to the employee’s supervisor.
For in-depth guidance on leave and other employment matters related to maternity and pregnancy:
For in-depth guidance on state and local sick leave requirements:
Organ and bone marrow donation—state employees. A state employee who donates bone marrow may take up to 7 days’ paid leave for the donation and recovery from donation. A state employee who donates a human organ may take up to 30 days’ paid leave for the donation and recovery from donation (UT Code Sec. 67-19-14.5).