In addition to the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA),some states have their own comprehensive family leave laws that may also require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for a family member with a serious illness.
Vermont has such a law.
Vermont provides family and medical leave protections to its public and private employees through the Parental and Family Leave Act (PFLA) (VT Stat. Tit. 21 Sec. 470et seq.).
For parental leave, the law covers employers doing business or operating within the state of Vermont with 10 or more employees for an average of at least 30 hours per week during a year.
For family leave, the law covers such employers with 15 or more employees for an average of at least 30 hours per week during a year.
Eligible employees. An employee is eligible for parental or family leave if the individual has been continuously employed by the same employer for a period of one year for an average of at least 30 hours per week.
Qualifying events—parental leave. Parental leave may be taken for the birth or adoption of a child 16 years of age or younger.
Qualifying events—family leave. Family leave may be taken because of the serious illness of the employee, the employee's parent, spouse, or parent-in-law, or the employee's child, stepchild, foster child, or ward who lives with the employee.
Leave requirements. During any 12-month period, an employee shall be entitled to take unpaid leave for up to 12 weeks:
• For parental leave during the employee's pregnancy and following the birth of a child or within a year following the adoption of a child
• For family leave for the serious illness ...