Arkansas Sick Leave laws & HR compliance analysis

Arkansas Sick Leave: What you need to know

There is no Arkansas law requiring private employers to provide employees sick leave, paid or unpaid, although many employers do grant it as an important employee benefit.
It is important to remember, however, that if sick leave is promised, an employer may create a legal obligation to grant it. Employers should regularly review statements made in handbooks or elsewhere to ensure that they accurately reflect current policies. If changes are necessary, the policy should be revised and employees notified of the changes.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
The Arkansas Uniform Attendance and Leave Policy Act provides public employees paid sick leave for sickness; injury; medical, dental, or optical treatment; or for the death or serious illness of an immediate family member.
“Immediate family” means the father, mother, sister, brother, husband, wife, child, grandmother, grandfather, grandchild, in-laws, or any individual acting as parent or guardian of an employee (AR Code Sec. 21-4-206).
Sick leave may not be granted for slight illness not incapacitating the employee for the performance of his or her regular duties.
Employees may also use accumulated sick leave and annual leave for maternity purposes.
State employees are entitled to sick leave with full pay computed on the basis of 1 day for each complete month of service including the probationary period. Only 120 days of sick leave may be carried over at the end of the calendar year.
Employees are required to furnish a certificate from an attending physician for 5 or more consecutive days of sick leave.
Sick leave with pay is not granted to emergency, hourly, intermittent, or per diem employees. Sick leave with pay is allowed to provisional and temporary employees on the basis ...

Read more about Sick Leave