Florida Sick Leave laws & HR compliance analysis

Florida Sick Leave: What you need to know

There is no Florida law that requires private sector employers to provide employees sick leave, paid or unpaid, although many employers do grant it as a popular employee benefit.
It is important to remember, however, that if sick leave is promised, an employer may create a legal obligation to grant it. Employers should regularly review statements made in handbooks or elsewhere to ensure that they accurately reflect current policies. If changes are necessary, the policy should be revised and employees notified of the changes.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
State career service employees are entitled to use sick leave for their own illness or injury; exposure to contagious disease that would endanger others; disability caused or contributed to by pregnancy, miscarriage, abortion, birth, or recovery therefrom; or doctors' appointments.
Employees may also use sick leave for injury, illness, or well care checkups of the child, spouse, or parent of the employee or the employee's spouse, or a person the employee or spouse has a caretaker responsibility for, when the employee's presence is necessary.
Medical verification. After 3 days of absence in any 30-day period, the agency head may require a medical verification of any further absence due to injury or illness. If there is a pattern of absence, the agency head may develop a policy for controlling such patterns.
After 10 consecutive days of absence, the agency head must require the employee to submit medical verification from the attending physician before additional use of sick leave or leave without pay will be authorized.
If the employee continues to be absent, the agency head will require further medical verification for each 30 consecutive days of absence. If the agency ...

Read more about Sick Leave