Nebraska Child Labor laws & HR compliance analysis

Nebraska Child Labor: What you need to know

In Nebraska, workers under the age of 16 are considered minors for purposes of employment. State law limits the occupations in which they may be employed and the number of hours they may work. Further distinctions are made among minors according to age, with special rules and exceptions in some groups (NE Rev. Stat. Sec. 48-301et seq.). Both federal and state child labor laws apply to most employers. If the laws conflict, the more restrictive law applies. Child labor laws are vigorously enforced.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Individuals under the age of 19 may not serve or sell alcoholic beverages. Once they have reached the age of 19, their employment duties may include bartending (NE Rev. Stat. Sec. 53-168.06).
Prohibitions. Individuals under the age of 18 may not sell, dispense, or possess any alcoholic liquor in a tavern or public place. Minors who have reached the age of 16 may stock, sack or carry out liquor when accompanied by a person who is 21 years of age or older, however they may not scan or accept payment for the sale of liquor. They may serve customers or bus tables in a restaurant or hotel where liquor is served.
Prohibitions. Minors under the age of 16, unless married, may not work at a job or in a place that is dangerous to the worker's life and limb, health, or morals. The minor's parents or guardians may not waive this provision. Minors under the age of 16 may not work as door-to-door solicitors except as newspaper carriers. They may sell door-to-door if they are self-employed entrepreneurs.
Permitted work. Minors under 14 years of age may not work, except as news carriers or for parents ...

Read more about Child Labor