Colorado Deductions from Pay laws & HR compliance analysis

Colorado Deductions from Pay: What you need to know

Under the Colorado Overtime and Minimum Pay Standards Order (COMPS),an employer may deduct from an employee's wages only charges required by law, permitted by law, or authorized by the employee. Deductions required by law include taxes, Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) requirements, garnishments, or any other deductions ordered by the courts. Employers may collect up to $5 per month to cover their administrative costs in enforcing court-ordered support payments through payroll deductions.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Permitted by law. Colorado law permits deductions for:
• Penalties for violations of previously established, written company policies, as long as the policies are consistent with laws concerning payment of wages for all hours worked
• Alleged theft by the employee, as long as the employer has filed a theft report with the proper authorities and provided the Labor Standards Unit with the complaint number and name of the investigating officer
• Loans, advances, goods, services, equipment, or property provided by the employer to the employee under a lawful written agreement between the employer and the employee
Authorized by employee. Deductions are allowed if authorized by the employee, as long as the authorization is revocable and the deduction does not reduce the employee's pay below the applicable minimum wage rate for all hours worked in a workweek.
Permitted deductions include those for payment of:
• Union dues
• Hospital and medical expenses
• Lodging credits if it is: voluntarily accepted by the employee; primarily for the benefit and convenience of the employee and not the employer; recorded in a written agreement; and, depending on the type of lodging, no more than $25 or $100 per week (or less, depending on ...

Read more about Deductions from Pay

Related Topics

Colorado Deductions from Pay Resources

Type Title
Forms Training Expense Agreement
Policies Payroll Deductions (Standard)
See all Deductions from Pay Resources