Nevada Exempt Personnel laws & HR compliance analysis

Nevada Exempt Personnel: What you need to know

Under Nevada's overtime law, when employees earn less than 11/2 times the minimum wage rate, the employees must receive 11/2 times their wages whenever they work more than 40 hours in any scheduled week or more than 8 hours in any workday, unless by mutual agreement the employees work a scheduled 10 hours per day for 4 calendar days within any scheduled workweek. When employees earn at least 11/2 times the minimum wage rate, the employees must receive 11/2 times their wages whenever they work more than 40 hours in any scheduled week, but not for working more than 8 hours in a day (NV Rev. Stat. Tit. 53 Sec. 608.018et seq.). Federal law requires overtime pay only after 40 hours in a workweek, so employers covered by both federal and state law must follow the state law to the extent it is more favorable to employees.
Bona fide administrative, executive, and professional employees as defined by federal law are exempt from the overtime provisions of Nevada's overtime law (NV Rev. Stat. Sec. 608.018). There is additional information and details on other employees who are exempt..

Read more about Exempt Personnel


Nevada Exempt Personnel Resources

Type Title
Checklists Trainees Checklist
Forms Exempt Survey Form
Policies Employee Workweek
See all Exempt Personnel Resources