Florida Hours of Work laws & HR compliance analysis
Florida Hours of Work: What you need to know
Florida places strict limits on the hours that may be worked by children under the age of 18, especially children of compulsory school age.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”. This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements. Download Now
A legal day's work for a manual laborer is 10 hours (FL Stat. Sec. 448.01). Unless there is a written contract that specifies otherwise, the employer is not permitted to require manual laborers to work a longer day without extra pay.
Commercial motor vehicle drivers who operate solely within the state must receive 8 hours of rest between specified on-duty hours.
Railroad employees must be given at least 8 hours of rest following 13 hours on duty, except when behind schedule or in an emergency.