Iowa Hours of Work laws & HR compliance analysis

Iowa Hours of Work: What you need to know

Iowa law places limitations on hours that may be worked by employees under the age of 18.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Drivers must have at least 10 hours off duty following 12 consecutive hours of work; and they may not work for more than a total of 12 hours during any 24-hour period, which must then be followed by at least 8 hours off duty. Drivers for urban transit companies may not drive for more than 12 hours in any 24-hour period. Drivers working a split shift must have at least 1 hour off between shifts (IA Code Sec. 321.449).
Iowa says “no” to local government mandates requiring additional pay to employees based on schedule changes. Predictive scheduling laws generally require a minimum amount of notice to be provided for an employee's scheduled shift or if changes are made to an employee's scheduled shift. Predictability pay may be required if shift reductions or changes are made after the initial notice of the shift is provided or if on-call employees aren't ultimately called in to work. Predictive scheduling makes life much easier for employees by allowing them to maintain a steady flow of income, schedule transportation to and from the workplace without continual last-minute changes, allow time for a second job if additional income is needed, organize child care, and even commit to attending educational classes during off hours to further their education. Individual businesses can use predictive scheduling measures, but local governments in Iowa cannot require them.

Read more about Hours of Work


Related Topics