Missouri Hours of Work laws & HR compliance analysis

Missouri Hours of Work: What you need to know

Employees engaged in any kind of mining, mechanical, chemical manufacturing, or smelting business may not work more than 8 hours a day in a 24-hour period without their consent (MO Rev. Stat. Sec. 290.020).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
No rail employee may work unless the employee has had at least 8 consecutive hours off duty during the preceding 24 hours (MO Admin. Code Tit. 4 Sec. 265-9.070). Employees in safety-sensitive jobs must have 10 hours of rest before going back on duty after working for 12 hours.
Time on duty includes interim rest periods up to 1 hour and time spent transporting an employee to an assignment.
In an emergency, an employee may work up to 15 hours but may not work more than the 12-hour limit for more than 2 days in a 7-day period.
Missouri places strict limits on the hours that may be worked by employees under the age of 18, especially those of compulsory school age.

Read more about Hours of Work


Related Topics

More on this topic: