New Mexico Hours of Work laws & HR compliance analysis

New Mexico Hours of Work: What you need to know

No employee, other than a firefighter, law enforcement officer, standby employee, or farm or ranch hand, may be required to work more than 16 hours in any one day, except during emergencies (NM Stat. Sec. 50-4-30).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Male employees in hotels, restaurants, cafes, or eating houses may not be required to work more than 10 hours in any day of 24 hours, or more than 70 hours in any week, except during emergencies (NM Stat. Sec. 50-4-13). During emergencies, such employees may work up to 74 hours per week (NM Stat. Sec. 50-4-14).
A driver must not work more than 10 hours following 8 consecutive hours off duty. A driver in interstate commerce within 100 miles of the normal work reporting location or within 150 miles of the normal work reporting location is exempt, but must have 8 hours off duty separating each 12 hours on duty (NM Admin. Code Sec. 18.2.3.14).
Employers are required to establish a uniform beginning hour of work for each place of employment. Changes in the beginning hour of work must be communicated to the affected employees by the employer during the previous workday (NM Stat. Sec. 50-4-15).
There are limitations on the number of hours and times of day that minors may work. There is additional information.

Read more about Hours of Work


Related Topics

More on this topic: