North Carolina Hours of Work laws & HR compliance analysis

North Carolina Hours of Work: What you need to know

North Carolina places strict limits on the hours that may be worked by minors under the age of 18, especially children of compulsory school age.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Railroad transportation. Employees must receive at least 10 hours of rest following 16 consecutive hours of work and may not be on duty for more than 16 hours during any 24-hour period. At least 8 hours must then be allowed for rest before such employees may be required to return to duty. Employees handling the movement of trains by telegraph or telephone may not work more than a 9-hour day in a place operating continuously; or more than a 13-hour day in a place operating only in the daytime. These hours may be extended in emergencies. In addition, the Utilities Commission may, for good cause, extend hours of work.
State institutions. Hours of work are restricted for employees (except doctors and superintendents) in certain state hospitals.

Read more about Hours of Work

Related Topics