Wyoming Hours of Work laws & HR compliance analysis

Wyoming Hours of Work: What you need to know

The standard workday for miners is 8 hours, which may be extended by agreement to no more than 16 hours in any 24-hour period. The standard 8-hour day does not apply in cases of emergency, defined as any condition which, if not corrected immediately, would jeopardize human life or property (WY Stat. Sec. 27-5-102). Any employer that threatens or takes punitive action against any employee who refuses to work more than the hours specified by this law is guilty of a misdemeanor that may be punished by fines of up to $500 or imprisonment for up to 6 months, or both (WY Stat. Sec. 27-5-108; Sec. 27-5-109; Sec. 27-5-110).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
There are numerous Wyoming statutory provisions regarding the number and kinds of hours children may be employed. Minors under the age of 16 who are enrolled in any private or public school may not work during school hours. They may not work before 5 a.m. or after 10 p.m. on nights before school days, or after 12 a.m. (midnight) on nights not followed by school days. Except in agricultural work or domestic service, they may not work for more than 8 hours in any 12-hour period. Children between the ages of 14 and 16 who are not enrolled in school may work for one 8-hour period between 5 a.m. and midnight on any day. Further restrictions are discussed in detail.
Last reviewed on March 10, 2016.

Read more about Hours of Work


Related Topics

More on this topic: