You can find your state and local minimum wage rates and tip credit laws in the Minimum Wage Chart.
The state’s tip credit may not be used for delivery drivers.
The following employees are exempt from Connecticut's minimum wage law (CT Gen. Stat. Sec. 31-58):
• Individuals employed in camps or resorts that are open no more than 6 months of the year
• Domestic service employees in or about a private home
• Individuals employed by the federal government
• Individuals engaged in the activities at educational, charitable, religious, scientific, historical, literary or nonprofit organization where the employer-employee relationship does not exist or where the services are voluntary
• Individuals employed as head residents or resident assistants by a college or university
• Individuals engaged in babysitting
• Individuals employed by a nonprofit theater that operates for no more than 7 months in any calendar year
• Individuals employed in a bona fide executive, administrative, or professional capacity
Regulations issued by the U. S. Department of Labor for the minimum wage provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) define exemptions for executive, administrative, and professional employees.
Under the Connecticut Fair Employment Practices Act, interns are afforded the same protections as employees. Under the law, an “intern” is defined as an individual who performs work for an employer for the purpose of training, provided:
• The employer is not committed to hire the intern at the conclusion of the training period;
• The employer and the intern agree that the intern is not entitled to wages for the work performed;
• The work performed supplements training given in an educational ...