Mississippi Overtime laws & HR compliance analysis

Mississippi Overtime: What you need to know

Mississippi has no overtime law of its own. Consequently, all overtime questions are governed by federal law.section.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Firefighters may not remain on duty for 24 hours straight. The time must be divided into two shifts, one shift for day and the other for night. No shift may be longer than 14 hours, except in cases of urgent and extreme necessity (MS Code Sec. 21-25-7).
The workday for full-time state employees is 8 hours. This does not include time off for meals. State offices must be open and staffed from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, except on legal holidays. The governor may designate certain state offices as providers of essential services and require that they be open and staffed on legal holidays. Employees required to work on legal holidays will earn compensatory leave but not additional vacation or sick leave benefits (MS Code Sec. 25-1-98).
Every employer with at least one employee who is covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act must post a notice outlining the federal minimum wage requirements.
U.S. Department of Labor
ESA Wage & Hour Division
Gulf Coast District Office:
Medical Forum Building, Suite 656
950 22nd Street North
Birmingham, AL 35203-3711
205-731-1305
Montgomery Alabama Area Office:
4001 Carmichael Road, Suite 215
Montgomery, AL 36106
334-223-7641

Read more about Overtime


Mississippi Overtime Resources

Type Title
Checklists Trainees Checklist
Forms Overtime Authorization Form
Handouts Overtime Pay (Handout)
Policies Overtime
See all Overtime Resources