Louisiana Paychecks laws & HR compliance analysis

Louisiana Paychecks: What you need to know

Vacation, holiday, and severance pay are all considered to be wages (LA Rev. Stat. Sec. 23:631). Days off that an employee has accrued, but has not used, are considered wages and must be paid out at termination.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Employers must inform their employees at the time of hire of the amount of wages and the method and frequency of payment. Any employer that does not designate specific paydays must pay its employees on the 1st and 16th of the month or as near as is practicable to those dates.
Employers that are public service corporations or manufacturing, oil boring, or mining companies with 10 or more employees must pay employees at least every 2 weeks or twice in a calendar month (LA Rev. Stat. Sec. 23:633). Payments must include all amounts due for labor beginning no more than 10 days before the payday (15 for public service corporations). This requirement does not apply to clerical or sales employees, except those employed by public service corporations, or to bona fide administrative, executive, supervisory, or professional employees.
Records. All employers must keep accurate records of employees' names, addresses, occupations, daily and weekly hours worked, and wages paid each pay period. These records must be kept on file for at least 1 year from the time they were made.
Wages remaining unclaimed by an employee for more than 1 year are presumed to be abandoned property (LA Rev. Stat. Sec. 9:154). Employers in possession of abandoned property are required to file a report with the secretary of the state Department of Revenue and Taxation by November 1 each year (LA Rev. Stat. Sec. 9:159).

Read more about Paychecks