Alabama Rest Periods laws & HR compliance analysis

Alabama Rest Periods: What you need to know

Federal wage and hour law does not require that employees be provided either paid or unpaid rest or meal periods. Whether breaks are required is left up to the states. Alabama has no provisions requiring meal or rest periods, except for minors.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division regulations do specify when work breaks that are provided, including meal periods, rest periods, and sleeping time, must be counted as work time subject to federal minimum wage and overtime requirements (29 CFR 785.18 through 785.23). There are details on these requirements.
Minors. Minors 14 or 15 years of age may not be employed for more than 5 hours continuously without a meal or rest period of at least 30 minutes. Any meal or rest period less than 30 minutes is not considered to interrupt a continuous period of work (AL Code Sec. 25-8-38).

Read more about Rest Periods


Alabama Rest Periods Resources

Type Title
See all Rest Periods Resources