Alaska Rest Periods laws & HR compliance analysis

Alaska Rest Periods: What you need to know

Federal wage and hour law does not mandate that employees be given either paid or unpaid rest or meal periods. Whether breaks are required is left up to the states.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Alaska has no general provisions requiring meal or rest breaks. Except in the case of minors, employers are not required to provide such breaks. Federal law governs when time spent on meal and rest breaks must be paid.
Minors under the age of 18 are entitled to a 30-minute break for each shift of 6 hours or more. The break may be scheduled at the convenience of the employer, but must occur after the first 11/2 hours of work and before the beginning of the last hour of work. A minor who works 5 consecutive hours without a break may take a 30-minute break before continuing work. This provision may be modified on occasion by employer and employee or by the terms of a collective bargaining agreement (AK Stat. Sec. 23.10.350).
Last reviewed on November 21, 2017.

Read more about Rest Periods


Alaska Rest Periods Resources

Type Title
See all Rest Periods Resources