Oregon Rest Periods laws & HR compliance analysis

Oregon Rest Periods: What you need to know

Federal wage and hour law does not mandate that employees be given either paid or unpaid rest or meal periods. Whether breaks are required is left up to the states. Oregon requires both rest periods and meal periods.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Under Oregon law, employers must provide, with pay, appropriate rest periods of at least 10 minutes for every 4 hours of work. As the nature of the work allows, employers must provide the rest period approximately in the middle of each segment of 4 hours or major part thereof worked during a work period (OR Admin. Reg. Sec. 839-020-0050).
Employers must provide these rest periods in addition to and taken separately from the time provided for a meal period. An employer may not require or allow an employee to add the rest period to a meal period or deduct the rest period from the beginning or end of the employee's work period to reduce the overall length of the work period.
Exception. An employer is not required to provide a rest period to an employee when the employee meets all of the following requirements:
• Is 18 years of age or older;
• Works less than 5 hours in any period of 16 continuous hours;
• Is working alone;
• Is employed in a retail or service establishment where goods and services are sold to the public, rather than for resale; and
• Is allowed to leave his or her assigned station to use the restroom.
The rest periods provision does not apply to agricultural workers and employees covered by a collective bargaining agreement. The Wage and Hour commissioner may make other exceptions, on request, if the commissioner finds good reason.
Minors. Employers must provide minors with a paid rest period of at least 15 ...

Read more about Rest Periods

Oregon Rest Periods Resources

Type Title
See all Rest Periods Resources